Biography

Recommend, or otherwise, books on Alexander (fiction or non-fiction). Promote your novel here!

Moderator: pothos moderators

SHERKHANN

Biography

Post by SHERKHANN »

Hello, this is Sher from Buenos Aires - Argentina. This is my first time in this forum. I have always admired Alexander the Great and have a certain knowledge about his life and epic history. I still have to learn a lot of course. Now, I would like to know the following, which is the best and most complete biography about Alexander the Great?.
Thank you very much and you can contact me at the following email address:
sherkhann@eurosport.com
Nick Christakes

Re: Biography

Post by Nick Christakes »

Hello Sher,
Great that you could join us! It's difficult to say what is the most complete history of Alexander. During the decade of the 1970's there was on average 1 book written and published about Alexander every 1 1/2 years, and he has been the most written about figure in world history aside from Jesus Christ since his untimely death in 323 b.c. For most of the time that has passed since then Alexander was the most written about, and only in recent history has Jesus Christ surpassed him in popularity. A little off the subject here, but you can get some good books which cover him very well and will take you years to acquaint yourself with thouroughly. Here's a few of the more noteworthy authors which have been recommended, but by no means complete: 1. Bosworth
2. Greene
3. Hammond
4. FullerOf course, there are the primary source authers which are also a good place to go for information:1. Arrian
2. Curtius
3. Plutarch
4. Diodorus
4. Justin
6. StraboI haven't read them all, but from what I have read, it is obvious that they vary widely in their representation of Alexander. Hope this helps...
later Nicator
Susan

Post by Susan »

Have you read the books section on this site? Go to the home page and select 'books' on the menu on the left. This will give you more ideas.
Maciek

Post by Maciek »