Newbie question

Post here about Alexander in film, TV, radio, other websites, YouTube etc.

Moderator: pothos moderators

Alita
Pezhetairos (foot soldier)

Newbie question

Post by Alita »

Hi everyone :D
I'm a newbie to this post. I was wondering if anyone here has seen the documentary on Alexander by Michael Wood, called In the Footsteps of Alexander the Great? If you have, what did you think of it? Did you find it accurate? Fair? I was watching it the other day and thought a lot of the references sounded a bit biased; e.g. Michael seemed to give a lot of credit to the Persian side and not enough to Alexander when Darius delievered his dying message of thanks for his family's safety. And other things like that. Love to hear from you on this.
Ciao from Alita XX
First, be human.
dean
Hetairos (companion)

Post by dean »

Hello

I found on the whole the documentary done by Michael Wood was interesting and quite balanced. He covered the terrain and gave a pretty impressive trek around the places Alexander would have visited.I loved the bit that dealt with Siwa and Persepolis.But also he is seen trying to inflate animal skins(and failing dismallly) and covering some quite inhospitable areas- imagine what it must have been like for Alexander and co.

I don't think that Michael Wood will be remembering for his harshness towards the figure of Alexander the great nor will he be remembered for his elavation of the same. I think that on the whole the Alexander found in footsteps is one devoid of too much bias. It is a fascinating odyssey.Enjoy.

Best regards,
Dean
carpe diem
karen
Hetairos (companion)

Disagree

Post by karen »