Sword types

Discuss the wars of Alexander's successors

Moderator: pothos moderators

Yiannis

Sword types

Post by Yiannis »

I'd like to add to the discussion the topic of sword types in ancient armies. Especially Persian, Macedonian/Greek and Roman. I'm not an expert on the matter but I was reading in a book (I can't recall which one unfortunately) that was referring to the surprise and horror of the Macedonian soldiers at the battle of Kynos Kephales in 197 B.C when they faced the Roman swords that were designed not only to pierce (as the Greek ones) but to cut as well. The result was mutilated limps on the part of the Macedonian army, which spread horror to the troops. In any case truth or not it's an interesting topic.
Sorry I can't provide any bibliography in my posting! Comments?
Federico

Re: Sword types

Post by Federico »

This is a really interesting topic. In fact Greek machaira was a short sword already used by hoplites. In Plutarch (Lyc. 19, 4) it is reported an "apophtegma" by Agis (338-331 BC), king of Sparta connected to sword shortness, especially the ones from Laconia. The macedonian phalangites at Kynoskephalai probably had a short sword derived from macedonian knief, just like swords used by Alexander's pezhetairoi. It was of pratically no use, because once the enemy soldiers avoided the danger of the sarissa (very rarely) had no problem to defeat the macedonian "warrior-farmers" of that period. Romans used the terrible "gladius", a Spanish double-edged sword, that Hellenes considered unfair! (Polybius). Roman soldiers were better trained in combat with hand weapons and when they didn't understand the "sarissas' rising" as a sign of surrender the massacre started.
Phobos ka+¼ Deimos
Federico from Italy
Yiannis

Post by Yiannis »

After I posted my message I found out that the Greek "hoplitai" were using a bronze sword with an iron cutting edge.
Terratheon

Post by Terratheon »